Constant companion

Do you have a constant companion? Here’s a picture of mine.

20130102-152802.jpg

Ok so while it may be in packaging from a great local Denver brewery it’s actually my water bottle. Why is it my constant companion? Because carrying it with me everywhere is the best way to make sure I stay hydrated. You might think you’re well hydrated, but are you really? If you’re not carrying a water bottle with you everywhere you go, then you might not be. A good daily minimum is 1/2 ounce for every 1 pound you weigh. So if you weigh 150 pounds, you should be drinking at least 75 ounces of water each day. This is especially important when on a challenge like the Whole30. It will make your workouts better and it will help keep those boredom hunger pangs at bay.

So if you’re anything like me (a little forgetful and/or prone to getting über focused on whatever you’re doing) then the best way to remember to stay hydrated is to fill up a big bottle and make it your constant companion.

Are you drinking enough water?

About gowestyoungfam

We just moved to Denver from Chicago and are excited about sharing the details of our new adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Constant companion

  1. Lisa Hendey says:

    Since you’re afternoon blogging you can answer two questions – what can we drink besides water? And what do you substitute for milk in recipes? I just tried coconut milk in the recipe I made, but it’s a bit too sweet… Nice having my own consultant on call!

    • Lisa – first of all, there is no substitute for water ;). Honestly there aren’t a ton of other options. The only thing I drink other than water when I’m on a challenge like Whole30 is hot tea. You’re probably bored by water and craving something sweet from coming off sugar/artificial sweeteners. Try coconut water to get something with a bit more flavor than plain old water. A lot of paleo people swear by kombucha, but I’m honestly sure if it’s Whole30 compliant…and even if you do try it you should stick to homemade kombucha because the stuff in stores is loaded with extra sweeteners.

    • Oh and to respond to your milk substitute question – the best answer is to find a new recipe that doesn’t call for milk. You could try almond milk, but it’s pretty impossible to find without prohibited ingredients. Also, think about why you’re cutting out something like milk and make it an empowering decision. Dairy is probably not optimal so you’re making a choice to not eat it. So why try to find something that’s very similar but compliant? Try to shift the approach from “I can’t eat these foods” to “I don’t eat these foods!” At least that’s the approach I try to take. This is why I shy away from ingredients like almond flour, coconut milk, etc. But, as I’ve said before I’m pretty all-or-nothing so you have to find the balance that works for you.

Leave a comment