Whole30!

Mike here. So some stuff has happened since I last posted. I started going to became addicted to CrossFit. I swapped vegetarianism for the paleo diet. I lost 60 pounds in about 7 months. So, you know, just some life-altering stuff like that. No big deal.

So the last half of 2012 was amazing. Meg and I are kicking off 2013 in the same vein by embarking a Whole30 challenge. The basics: no grains, sugar, dairy, or alcohol for the next thirty days. Honestly this won’t be that difficult of a challenge for me for two reasons: 1) I am already a pretty strict paleo eater and 2) endeavors like this play well to my inherited OCD. I thrive on all or nothing opportunities like this. I only wish I realized I could apply my insanity to healthy things like this a bit earlier in my life. Oh well…better late than never!

Anyway, shouldn’t be too tough. Not drinking will likely be the hardest part. Cutting out bacon is the other big change (almost every bacon you will find has sugar as an ingredient), but luckily my local Whole Foods tends to stock pork belly, which is a great substitute for bacon. Oh and I’ll have to cut out deli meat, which is a great protein snack but is nearly impossible to find without carrageenan (a preservative derived from seaweed which is not allowed), nitrates (not allowed) or some kind of sugar or syrup (duh…obviously not allowed). Ok so maybe it will be a little challenging…

About gowestyoungfam

We just moved to Denver from Chicago and are excited about sharing the details of our new adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

