Letter from Your Ma: 39 Weeks or “Mama’s Got the Grumples”

Weight Gain?  According to Baby Center, you now measure about 20 inches and weigh a bit over 7 pounds, about the size of a mini watermelon.
Symptoms?  Excuse your mother’s language here a moment, but Braxton Hicks contractions have got to be the most bullsh*t thing about pregnancy.  I’ve been having them on and off throughout the third trimester, but only in this last week have they become uncomfortable.  Uncomfortable and apparently pointless, as I am still not dilated even 1 cm.   Also, my belly has reached it’s maximum forward capacity and the pregnancy appears to be spreading outwards.   My belly button finally popped out all the way.  It looks ridiculous.
Sleep?  The good news is, I’m sleeping like a baby again.  Not so much at night, but daytime naps have become very satisfying.
Foods I am loving?  I’m back to eating junk.  I returned from Target the other day with a box of dark chocolate ice cream bars, break-and-bake tollhouse chocolate chip cookies (the lazy-man’s homemade cookie) AND a chocolate hazelnut candy bar.  That last one never actually made it out of the car.  I’ll be honest, I’m considering venturing out today for a bag of Doritos.
Best moment this week?  Thinking that I was going into labor.  This was followed by the worst moment where I realized I was not in labor.  And that moment was followed by an episode of crying while eating a second ice cream bar, followed by shame and regret, followed by a cookie.
Movement?  Your movement is mostly the same.  I feel more punches down low, so perhaps you are dropping after all.
What I miss?    Getting up from the couch without grunting like a man.  Tying my own shoes without grunting like a man.
What we’ve been up to:    Honestly I’m a little bored.  I probably could’ve kept the shop open for longer, but it’s probably best that I didn’t.  I have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow, so hopefully I will have some better news to share.
About gowestyoungfam

We just moved to Denver from Chicago and are excited about sharing the details of our new adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

