Letter from your Ma: 37-38 weeks

Weight Gain?  You made it!  You’re full term!  We rock!  You now weigh about 6.8 pounds and are over 19 1/2 inches long.  Your lungs are developed and you’re ready for life on the outside!
Symptoms?  The difference between weeks 37 and 38 were like night and day.  Week 37 I was sluggish, swollen and ready to be done with pregnancy.  Week 38, I morphed into a hyperactive pregnant superhero.   I had so much energy and I thought perhaps I was “nesting” but that is supposed to be an immediate precursor to labor…and you’re not here yet, so who knows.  You’ve been hiccuping a lot lately.  You’re also big enough now that you can totally change the shape of my stomach by pushing your arms or feet or bottom outwards.  It’s a little strange to watch.  Otherwise, I feel great, but am SO thirsty.  I seriously can’t quench my thirst.  At night I full up a 32 ounce bottle and by morning it’s gone.  I wake up several times at night feeling like my mouth is full of sand.
Sleep?  Who needs sleep?  Not me!  Too busy walking back and forth to the bathroom seventy times a night!
Foods I am loving?  Water.  Just water.  Gallons and gallons of water.
Best moment this week?  Finally finishing work. I closed my shop on November 15 and spent the next week filling all the last minute orders.  I’m officially on maternity leave!
Movement?  You’re still high up, but head down (the right position for birth, but you still haven’t “dropped.”)
What I miss?    Not much at this point.  I’m feeling really great, like I could go on being pregnant forever.
What we’ve been up to:    Work work work work work work.  Now that I’m on leave, I get to concentrate on YOU.  The next week(s?) I will finish up your room, pick up little odds and ends and – hopefully – your dad and I can choose your name.  We can’t wait to meet you!
About gowestyoungfam

We just moved to Denver from Chicago and are excited about sharing the details of our new adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

