Letter from your Ma: 30 weeks

I don’t think you’re ready for this belly.

How far along?  30 weeks!  (+ 4 days as of this posting).  Can you believe it?  Only 10 weeks to go!
Weight Gain?  You are nearly 16 inches long now and weigh almost 3 pounds.  Like a head of cabbage.
Symptoms?  I had a good week this week.  Nose bleeds are back with a vengeance, but I’m used to them.
Sleep?  Even after cutting night-time fluids I still get up several times a night.  It’s difficult getting back to sleep, but if I squirm around enough your dad will wake up and give me a back rub.  I’ve become an expert squirmer.
Foods I am loving?  Fruit, hot chocolate and sips of beer.
Best moment this week?  Washing and organizing all of your cute cloth diapers.  Wow, that sounds lame, but I did enjoy it.
Movement?  I thought you were punching me in the ribs all this time, but apparently you were kicking me.  The doctor said you’re upside down…or at least you were at my 30-week appointment.   Good job!
What I miss?    Getting out of bed without straining.  Seeing my feet.
What we’ve been up to:    Continuing our baby classes.   This week we learned all about pain management.  I’m debating whether or not to get an epidural during labor.  Right now my plan is to avoid making a plan and just see how it goes.  We’re still hiking and enjoying some cool weather.  And just taking it easy.  You can distinguish light from dark, so  sometimes I play “flash light” with you, holding one up to my belly and moving it around.  Can you see that?  Apparently your eyes are open now, but you’re still fairly blind.  At birth, you’ll have 20/400 vision.  Normal adult vision is 20/20.  Don’t worry, you’ll catch up.  We’ve also narrowed our name choice down to 3 possibilities:  V_____, B______ or E_____.   I think we may wait to meet you before making a final decision.
About gowestyoungfam

We just moved to Denver from Chicago and are excited about sharing the details of our new adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

