Letter from your Ma: Week 29

How far along?  29 weeks + 1 day.  I forgot last week’s update and have no real excuse… At least none comes to mind.  Forgive me!
Weight Gain?  According to Baby Center, you weigh about 2 1/2 pounds (like a butternut squash) and are a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel.  Since you still don’t have a name, I think this week I’ll call you Butternut Boo Bartholomy.
Symptoms?  Feeling so very big and clumsy.  I look back at older belly photos of myself and can’t believe how I’ve changed.  I remember thinking I was enormous at 20 weeks.  If only I knew what was in store.  And I have a long way to go.  Luckily the temperatures are starting to drop and soon I’ll be able to cover you up with comfy leggings and chunky sweaters.  (P.S.  I know I talk a lot about my size here, usually in a negative manner, but I’d bet your first tooth that after you’re here, I’ll miss being pregnant.  I think I’ll miss the excitement of knowing that in X number of weeks, I get to meet the child who’s been kicking me every evening before bedtime.  Trust me:  you’re worth every ache, pain, pound, nightmare and worry multiplied by 1000. One day you’ll learn that part of the fun of any celebration is the anticipation leading up to the event.  Birthdays are great, but it’s also fun to count down the days until you’ll celebrate another year.  In eleven weeks I get to introduce you to the great wide world, but in the meantime I am trying to hold on to the anticipation leading up to that day.)
Sleep?  Not going so well.  I still get up 3-4 times for the bathroom and have been struggling with some terrible nightmares.  I’ve also been getting killer leg cramps in the middle of the night.  My calves will knot up so badly that the only way to release them is to get out of bed and force my toes upwards using my full body weight.  On the upside, I haven’t had a nose bleed in at least 7 days.
Foods I am loving?  Yogurt, almond butter on toast, refried beans, tomatoes, watermelon and basically anything and everything put in front of me.
Best moment this week?  Probably having dinner at the Justice League of Street Food, a group of food trucks that converge in Denver once a month for a fun outdoor party.  I’ll take you there next spring.
Movement?  Last week you found a new fun activity:  turning and pushing your head and/or arms into my ribcage.  The first time this happened, I was driving and nearly lost control of the car.
What I miss?   Running.
What we’ve been up to:    We’re all in school these days.  I took a class on cloth diapering.   Your dad and I attend a weekly birthing class.  Even Ollie has been taking obedience classes in anticipation of your arrival.  The nursery is coming together and we’re all anxious to wish you a happy birthday.
About gowestyoungfam

We just moved to Denver from Chicago and are excited about sharing the details of our new adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

